Take our quiz now

What is your COVID-19 testing IQ?

The three types of COVID-19 testing are PCR (molecular) tests, antigen tests, and antibody tests.
The gold standard test for COVID-19 diagnosis is:
The only test that can confirm a past COVID-19 infection is:
A PCR test is required to confirm a negative antigen test result for a SYMPTOMATIC (with symptoms) person.
A PCR test is required to confirm a negative antigen test result for an ASYMPTOMATIC (without symptoms) person who has no known exposure to the virus.
Which type of COVID-19 test is most commonly used to detect possible prevalence of COVID-19 within a population?

Get in touch

Want to learn more about the various testing options and their use? Sign up to receive the latest news and insights.

Use the Right Test at the Right Time

ACT Tool Form

Use the Right Test at the Right Time

Let’s Begin!

I am looking for...

This tool provides additional detail when used on a desktop or laptop computer.

Antibody testing determines the presence of antibodies that recognize markers of SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, indicating that the body previously had been infected. In many diseases, the presence of antibodies confers immunity, but scientists have not verified if this is true for COVID-19. See the glossary section of our website to learn about the difference between Nucleocapsid Protein Antibody Tests and Spike Protein Antibody Tests.

PCR testing is used to accurately detect active infections. It is a type of molecular test and considered the gold standard for testing. PCR is the most commonly used nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT).

Antigen testing is used to identify active infections. It expands testing capacity as a fast, reliable, and affordable screening and diagnostic option.